I'm saying it cannot be done and to make a new profile and deal with it. We do not know all those Facebook friends in our real life and so sharing specific personal information to them is not a good idea. Since that time, Grundy has written many guides to using various applications that are published on numerous how-to and tutorial sites. Hide your posts and tags. The only way to make sure that no one except friends who are also in the group can see your group posts is to change the group setting to Closed. Not only you can have a discussion with the group members but can also share files, photos etc.
There is no setting in your profile that can stop your friends seeing the posts. The first thing you want to try is to leave the group. When you are on your home page, look at your list of groups on the left-hand side, under your profile picture. Therefore if you belong to a public group there is almost no way to avoid them seeing your activity in that group. Facebook has created a sticky situation by allowing people to subscribe to you even if you do not approve a friendship. Step 5: When done click on save changes and post your update without any bother.
The group is kind of a controversial one and I dont want people to see what I post… How can I hide posts I make in a group from appearing on the News Feed of people on my friends list? The moderators will review reports as soon as possible but if you feel something should be looked at sooner please , ensuring you include a link to the post or comment. Deactivate your page if you want to hide it for a while. Let's face it: when you've seen one baby photo or holiday snap, you've seen them all. Each item on your profile has an individual privacy setting. Your Facebook News Feed can be a busy place, particularly if you have lots of active friends.
This article was co-authored by our trained team of editors and researchers who validated it for accuracy and comprehensiveness. Also, you can always see the privacy setting of a post while posting itself. Here are some examples: A Public group: When you hover over Public Group: A Closed Group: When you hover over Closed Group: A Secret Group: When you hover over Secret Group: How do I stop my friends seeing all my posts in this Facebook group? Members have to invite people to join the group. Facebook has intentionally pushed groups into their own category on the left side of your feed. Deactivate your Facebook page if you aren't planning on using Facebook for a while. You will need to ask to join this group and need to be approved before you can post.
It should also be noted, obviously, that administrators will know you joined the group since they have to approve you when you get there. If you unsubscribe from the group notifications on the News Feed page, the notifications cease to appear on your Timeline page as well. Just hide certain posts that you think it to be personal, so that you can maintain your privacy. If you click the message in the pop-out window, Facebook directs you to the main page for the Group. Disabling Group Notifications via the News Feed Although the Facebook Timeline displays more information and status updates than the older profile page, it might not be as intuitive to use when you want to disable or hide notifications from certain friends, apps or groups.
Step 1: Whenever you post a new entry in your Facebook status tab such as status message, photos and videos you will see a drop down option close next to post or share button. You can prevent your timeline posts from appearing to anyone else, essentially turning your timeline into a private blog. Now, you must be thinking, Is there any way to hide these Groups from Facebook timeline? Every one of us will often have a business acquaintances or an annoying family member in Facebook whom we cannot unfriend, but most of the time we get tired of having them in our connection. That story whatever it is is shared on the wall of the group members only. Because I've searched Google and it looks quite unlikely. You can hide your posts so that no one else besides you can see them, or limit them to a small set of close friends. By default, Facebook posts a notification on your Timeline and sends an email every time someone posts or comments on the group page.
This option will vary according to the post. You can turn posting for your timeline off so that no one else can post anything to it. Requests for help must be posted to the Weekly Questions Thread, otherwise, please post to. If you are quite anxious about your particulars then you can. But unless the Facebook Group is secret, our membership is Public to all users.
The default one may be Public, friends or only me depending upon your global privacy settings. Additional flairs can be requested by contacting. Your post will be automatically removed by if you post here. I thought I had all my privacy settings tight. Requests for help, questions related to your own circumstances or that of a friend, and anything related to general assistance with Facebook must be posted to the Weekly Questions Thread only. The pop-up window also allows you to change other group settings, such as when and how to notify you of new posts; whether to notify you if anyone posts, or just a friend; and whether to allow chats to appear. This custom privacy option enables you to share a post just to certain people, list you manage or hiding it from a group or specific people.
By clicking on this button, you will effectively hide the group from your page. This can mean you see the same post at the top of the News Feed for some time, with other more recent posts buried further down. Facebook is a wide network with billions of users that connects us with friends, families, friends of friends etc. Leave a Reply Your email address will not be published. Do share the article with your friends and stay subscribed to our newsletter to get our directly in your inbox.
When you look at the group home page, there will be a note underneath which states what kind of group it is. Born and raised in South Georgia, Grundy holds a Master of Science degree in mathematics from the Georgia Institute of Technology. Meta posts are generally not permitted unless approved by the moderators. Trying to reverse this design would mean changing the entire architecture of the software, which Facebook is not going to do. Do you know how Facebook attained such fame? Once a notification from the group appears in the pane above your Friends List, click the message to display a pop-out window. Run your cursor over the name of the group you would like to hide. For eg: Posting on own timeline- Posting on an open group timeline- See the privacy setting in yellow mark.